Squeezebox Setup

September 16, 2010

Squeezey 1.2 into app store

Filed under: Uncategorized — jfearon @ 8:38 pm

Just a quick post to say that Squeezey 1.2 has been approved for the app store, so should appear shortly (if it hasn’t already).  The key features of this version are:

1) New interface

2) Authentication support

3) Now playing screen

4) Random playlist options

5) Power button

6) A lot of bug fixes.  The highlights of which are the cache problem that some users had, and some unicode issues in the screen, but many many more.

Any feedback please let me know the usual way – post on the slimdevices forum in the thread – http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?p=573209 – or simply mail me at  james dot fearon at gmail dot com.

FAQ

How do I get support?

Please drop me a mail (james dot fearon at gmail dot com), or comment on this blog, get me on twitter (@jfearon) or post on the slimdevices forums http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?p=573209.

I rebuilt my library and now I have two copies of everything.

Go into the settings and clear the cache – it will then reload correctly.  If the cache is having issues reloading then the easiest way to get into the cache settings quickly is to turn off the wireless network, then load the app – this way the settings screen is instantly available.

Squeezey doesn’t find my squeezebox server?

You can manually enter an IP and port number in the settings screen after the connection has timed out.  When the connection has timed out click on the cog in the top right corner, then enter your IP and Port number.  When you restart the app it should connect.  If not please let me know – james dot fearon at gmail dot com.

Playback doesn’t work?

You must have transcoding enabled – please follow the instructions on http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/LAME_for_transcoding.

I have transcoding enabled and playback still doesn’t work

I would check the squeezeserver logs to see whats going on – transcoding is probably not working.  If you aren’t sure how to do this, or don’t know what to make of what you see please drop me a mail (james dot fearon at gmail dot com), or comment on this blog and I’m happy to help.

The cache wont load

Upgrade to Squeezey 1.2.  Still having issues – please drop me a mail james dot fearon at gmail dot com – I’d be happy to help you out

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

